The doors to Farmingdale’s upgraded station building are open!
Farmingdale Station, originally built in 1890 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has received a number of upgrades to improve the customer experience, including a new waiting room with terrazzo flooring, newly redone ADA accessible restrooms, tile and wood wall and ceiling finishes, windows, doors, electrical, plumbing and HVAC upgrades. Getting around the station is now easier, thanks to a rehabilitated pedestrian underpass and new wayfinding signage.
Other completed improvements include bike racks, benches, USB charging stations, technology counters (where customers can charge their mobile devices), LCD information displays and new CCTV cameras. The building’s facade was fully restored to its original historical brick architecture, capturing and preserving its history and character: historic photos will be placed alongside a commemorative plaque in remembrance of its past.
Another slate of improvements will be added to the station, including improved ADA accessibility with a new ramp, platform shelter sheds, LED platform lighting, trash receptacles, free public Wi-Fi, digital information display totems and platform repairs.
The station, located along the Ronkonkoma Branch in Suffolk County, serves more than 3,800 daily customers. With the completion of the Double Track Project, upgrading the Farmingdale Station is vital to accommodate future increases in ridership. The LIRR has modernized Farmingdale Station to improve the experience for its customers and to contribute to the economic growth and development of Long Island.