The oldest house in Northport, Long Island, a North Shore town known for shipbuilding, was built in 1761, and the first rail station was built in the village a little over one hundred years later as part of the eastward expansion of rail service to Port Jefferson. Last year Northport Station, just off Bellerose Avenue, has been restored, and the results are stunning.
The station building, originally erected in 1927, has been returned to its Roaring 20s glory. The full architectural station rehabilitation includes improved ADA accessibility, a new waiting room with terrazzo flooring, new restrooms, tile and wood wall and ceiling finishes, windows, doors, electrical, plumbing, and HVAC upgrades. New amenities include new LIRR and wayfinding signage, free public Wi-Fi, bike racks, benches, USB charging stations, technology counters, trash receptacles, digital information display totems, LCD information displays, CCTV cameras, historic photos and a commemorative plaque honoring the station’s unique history.
The Northport Train Station was erected in 1873 as part of the eastward expansion of rail service to Port Jefferson. The Village Station continued to provide passenger service on the “Northport Branch” until 1899. It was the cessation of this service that prompted formation of the Northport Traction Company and construction of a three-mile trolley line linking the Village to the Northport Train Station on Larkfield Road. The trolley ran until 1924, when changes resulting from WWI and advances in car and bus transportation rendered it obsolete.
The LIRR has modernized Northport Station to improve the travel experience for its customers and to contribute to the economic growth and development of Long Island. For more information and photos, please visit the Northport Station Enhancement project page on AModernLI.com.